Twenty-four SportPesa Premier League players will be up for selection on Sunday when Harambee Stars face Democratic Republic of Congo in an international friendly match from 3pm at Kenyatta Stadium in Machakos, 66km to the east of the capital city Nairobi.

Last year’s Golden Boot winner John Makwatta and on-form Ulinzi Stars midfielder Samuel Onyango are among those angling for a start in coach Stanley Okumbi’s squad having impressed against Uganda on Thursday.

Gor Mahia defender Musa Mohammed is, however, likely to miss this match, as he limped on Thursday with an ankle injury.

Though a friendly, this will be one of Okumbi’s tougher test as he rides on the crest of nine consecutive matches unbeaten.

Captain Victor Wanyama of Tottenham Hotspur, his assistant David Owino and Gor Mahia goalkeeper Boniface Oluoch are primed to start after sitting out the Uganda match.

Okumbi told that the task against DRC is one that his players could win with the necessary planning and determination.

Said Okumbi: “We have beaten them before so why shouldn’t we do the same once more?”

The Congolese will be looking to avenge the 1-0 home loss they suffered at the hands of Kenya in a friendly match played on October 4, 2016.

DR Congo coach Florente Imbenge could unleash the 2017 Africa Cup of Nations top scorer Junior Kabananga, who is likely to give the Stars backline marshalled by Owino and Brian Mandela a torrid time.

The indications are this will be a cracker.

Tickers are priced at Sh200 and Sh500.

Harambee Stars Squad:

Goalkeepers: David Okello (Tusker), Boniface Oluoch (Gor Mahia), Patrick Matasi (Posta Rangers);Defenders: David Mwangi (Mathare United), Eugene Asike (Tusker), Jockins Atudo (Posta Rangers), Maurice Ojwang (Western Stima), Musa Mohammed (Gor Mahia), Robinson Kamura (AFC Leopards), Sammy Meja (Thika United), Simon Mbugua (Posta Rangers), Abud Omar (Slava Sofia, Bulgaria), David Ochieng (New York Cosmos, USA), Erick Ouma (FC Kolkheti, Georgia), David Owino (Zesco, Zambia), Brian Mandela (Maritzburg, South Africa); Midfielders: Amos Asembeka (Sony Sugar), Benard Mang’oli (AFC Leopards), Erick Johanna (un-attached), Francis Kahata (Gor Mahia), Humphrey Mieno (Tusker), Joseph Kuria (Posta Rangers), Kenneth Muguna (Gor Mahia), Noah Wafula (Tusker), Ochieng Ovella (Kariobangi Sharks), Osborne Monday (Kariobangi Sharks), Samuel Onyango (Ulinzi Stars), Whyvonne Isuza (AFC Leopards), Anthony Akumu (Zesco, Zambia), Johanna Omollo (Royal Antwerp, Belgium), Ayub Timbe (Beijing Renhe, China), Victor Wanyama (Tottenham Hotspurs, England); Forwards: Jeremiah Wanjala (Kakamega Homeboyz), Mark Makwatta (Ulinzi Stars), Vincent Oburu (Ulinzi Stars), Jesse Were (Zesco, Zambia), Michael Olunga (Guizhou Zhicheng, China)