Veteran international striker Hillary Echesa has joined Sofapaka’s newly revamped side from Chemelil Sugar ahead of the second phase of the 2017 season.

The former Kenya international is among 13 players who have been recruited by Batoto ba Mungu coach Sam Ssimbwa as they look to mount a title challenge with 21 rounds of matches remaining.

Willis Ouma, also from Chemelil sugar, has also joined Sofapaka on a two-year contract, together with Kakamega Homeboyz defender Abdulatiff Omar, Thika United striker Timothy Luda and experienced Western Stima defender Wesley Onguso.

Other notable inclusion are Ugandans Feni Ali, Rodgers Aloro and Umar Kasumba who have been poached from Ugandan clubs URA (Uganda Revenue Authority), Simba Sports Club and SC Villa.

Youthful forwards Morvine Otiya and Hazel Ochieng have also been selected to join the squad from lower tier sides Palos and Jericho All Stars respectively.

Speaking during the unveiling ceremony in Nairobi, Ssimbwa thanked club sponsors, sports betting firm Betika for offering support for the team before reiterating his goal to lift the SPL trophy come November.

“We may have signed many players, but this is only because we are looking at balance the team and increase our depth. We want to win at least one of the trophies on offer and we need many hands on deck to do it.

“Last year we were almost relegated but now we are in sixth position after 13 games. For me that is an average performance. It is not as good as I would like, but we can make amends as there are still some 21 games remaining,” he said.

The club has released five players namely Jaffar Gichuki, Moses “Dube” Odhiambo, Wanok Pate, James Kasibante and Paul Odhiambo.

Sofapaka new signings: Feni Ali (Uganda Revenue Authority), Willis Ouma, Hillary Echesa (Chemelil Sugar), Umar Kasumba (SC Villa), Rodgers Aloro (Simba, Uganda), Timothy Luda (Thika United), Meshak Karani (Kakamega Homeboyz), Wesley Onguso (Western Stima), Abdulatiff Omar (Kakamega Homeboyz), Marvin Otinya (Palos), Ricky Onimbo (Wazito), Hansel Ochieng (Jericho All Stars), Vincent Otundo (Academy)