Sixty four teams from the SportPesa Premier League and lower tier sides have confirmed participation in the 2017 GOtv Shield knock out tournament that will kick off on July 24.

Defending champions Tusker will open their campaign with a match against lower tier side SS Asad in Mombasa as former champions Gor Mahia and AFC Leopards face Nairobi Water and Dero FC respectively in their opening games.

Last year’s losing finalists Ulinzi Stars will battle Wajiji FC while Kariobangi Sharks have a date with Bungoma Super Stars.

This year, teams have been divided into two zones, and all lower tier teams have been arranged to play their opening round games at home.

This is all in a bid to spread out the game deep into the grassroots, and also give smaller chance a fighting chance to advance in the competition.

“The sponsorship of the GOtv Shield tournament only reaffirms our commitment towards helping to grow Kenyan football from the grassroots up,” GOtv Kenya General Manager Simon Kariithi said during the draw in Nairobi.

The cash prize for the winning team is Sh2 million. The second and third placed team will pocket Sh750,000 and Sh500,000 respectively.

Winners of this competition will also earn a ticket to next year’s Confederation Cup as Kenya’s representatives.

GOtv Shield Draw

Zone A

Nairobi Water v Gor Mahia, Bigot FC v Nakumatt FC, Wajiji FC v Ulinzi Stars FC, Balaji FC v Coast Stima FC, Young Divers v Thika United, Taqwa FC v Nairobi City Stars, Silver Bullets v Sofapaka FC, Al Ahly v Kenpoly FC, Karatina Homeboyz v Administration Police, Peter Kenneth FC v Wazito FC, Muranga All Stars v Bidco United, Dero FC v AFC Leopards, Tandaza FC v Zetech University, Avant Garde FC v Ushuru FC, SS Asaad FC v Tusker FC, Mwatate United v Kenya Police, Butterfly FC v Leysa

Zone B

Uweza Fc v Bandari FC, Dream Academy v Modern Coast FC, Timsales v Sony Sugar FC, Bondo United v Nzoia Sugar FC, Eldoret Youth v Nakuru All Stars, Savannah Cement v Chemelil Sugar FC, Transfoc FC v Western Stima FC, Bungoma Super Stars v Kariobangi Sharks, Nyakach United v GFE 105 FC, Poror FC v KCB FC, Rain Forest FC v Agrochemicals FC, Umoja Baringo v Nairobi Stima FC, Naivas FC v Kakamega FC, Elim FC v Vihiga United, Griffin FC v Palos FC