Statement by the Kenyan Premier League Ltd on resignation of James Musyoki as chairman of the League:

Kenyan Premier League Ltd would like to announce that James Musyoki has today, Thursday, 16 February 2017, officially resigned from his position as Chairman of the Kenyan Premier League and Tusker Football Club.

Mr. Musyoki was serving as Chairman of the Kenyan Premier League for a third spell following Tusker Football Club’s league triumphs in 2011, 2012 and 2016.

As Tusker Football Club Chairman, Mr. Musyoki tirelessly championed for the good of the football game in Kenya and his efforts are manifest in; the streamlining of day-to-day operations at Tusker Football Club which culminated in the Club being the first Football Club in the country to comply with the Sports Act (2013) as well as to be first the first Kenyan Football Club to meet the CAF Club Licensing Regulations and Tusker Football Club winning all domestic cups at least once during his 6-year reign (3 League Titles, 2 KPL Top 8 Titles, 2 DSTV Super Cups and 1 GOtv Shield).

It therefore goes without saying that Mr. Musyoki leaves KPL and Tusker Football Club with his head held high and the Kenyan Premier League Ltd would like to take this opportunity to express its heartfelt and sincere gratitude to Mr. Musyoki for the verve, wisdom, integrity and dedicated leadership with which he executed his role as KPL Chairman, member of KPL Governing Council and member of the Joint Executive Committee.

As per KPL policy following the KPL Governing Council Resolution of 18 December 2013, Gor Mahia Football Club Chairman, Mr. Ambrose Rachier will take over as KPL Chairman for the next 6 months before relinquishing the position to the incoming Tusker Football Club Chairman.

Kenyan Premier League Ltd wishes Mr. Musyoki all the best in his new endeavors.

*NB Following a Governing Council Resolution of December 18, 2013, On the KPL Chairmanship, members agreed that for one to qualify as the KPL Chairman he/she must have served as a club Chairman for at least 6 months. In the event that the incoming Chairman has not served for 6 months the outgoing Chairman shall remain in office for a period of 6 months  and then relinquish the position to the incoming Chairman.