AFC Leopards, Kariobangi Sharks, Vihiga United, Sony Sugar qualified for the GOtv Shield semi-finals after winning their respective round of eight matches over a two-day, double header programme full of goals at Nyayo Stadium in Nairobi.

AFC Leopards, the 2013 champions, stormed into the semis on Sunday afternoon in emphatic fashion after dispatching lower tier side Wazito 7-1.

Burundian Alex Kitenge plundered a hat-trick as young sensation Marcelus Ingotse scored a brace to keep Leopards in complete control of the match.

Samuel Ndung’u and Michael Kibwage were Leopards other scorers as their fans, long starved of glory, got something to smile about on this afternoon.

Piston Mutamba scored Wazito’s consolation goal as the University of Nairobi side bowed out without a whimper on this day after a rather brave run.

Tusker title defence came to a screeching stop when they were stunned by National Super League side Vihiga United 2-0.

The brewers were sunk by goals from ever green ex-international Charles Okwemba and second half replacement Dennis Lugalia as Vihiga’s fiery tale run continued. Out going Vihiga Governor Moses Akaranga, instrumental in the development of the side, was at lively supporter at the Nyayo stands.

On Saturday, Kariobangi Sharks dispatched lower tier side Eldoret Youth 5-0 score line, while Sony Sugar overcame Bandari 3-1 in the second quarters of the day.

Harambee Stars trialist Masoud Juma scored a brace for Kariobangi Sharks as Duke Abuya, Sven Yidah and Ebrimma Sanneh weighed in with a goal each to complete the rout.

For Sony sugar, Congolese striker Mwana Yema was their toast of the afternoon, as he scored a goal and played a hand in the others which were finished off by veteran Amos Asembeka. Former Gor Mahia and Uinzi Stars striker Baron Oketch scored the sole goal for Bandari.

The semi-finals will be played in September.

Winners will earn a ticket to represent Kenya in 2018 CAF Confederation Cup next year and also pocket Sh2 million in prize money.

Quarter-final results:

Kariobangi Sharks 5-0 Eldoret Youth

Bandari 1-3 Sony Sugar

AFC Leopards 7-1 Wazito

Tusker 0-2 Vihiga United