Rwandan striker Jacques Tuyisenge was on the mark for Gor Mahia as they beat Tusker 1-0 to lift the 2017 Kenyan Premier League Super Cup at Afraha Stadium in Nakuru on Sunday.

Tuyisenge got his name on the score sheet 13 minutes into the second half from a spot kick to hand K’Ogalo their fourth Super Cup title. Gor also won this annual fixture in 2010, 2013 and 2015.

Timothy Otieno was felled inside the box prompting referee George Mwai to point to the spot and the obliging Rwandan – the new K’Ogalo assistant captain – made no mistake.

Gor coach Marcelo Ferreira had started with an unusual 3-5-2 formation that had captain Musa Mohammed, new signing Joash Onyango and Harun Shakava forming a back three, as Ernest Wendo, JeanBaptiste Mugiraneza, Kenneth Muguna, Karim Nizigiyimana and Godfrey Walusimbi played the midfield roles.

Tuyisenge and returnee Timothy Otieno were the chosen attackers of the day.

Tusker captain James Situma and prolific striker Allan Wanga were left out of the squad, as coach George Nsimbe opted to start with new signing Marlone Tangauzi, half back Eugene Asike and experienced Lloyd Wahome at the back.

It was the first time that the Kenyan Super Cup match was ending in regulation time in three years, as post-match penalty shoot-outs had determined the three previous winners.

It was also the first time Gor Mahia, the 15-time league champions, were lifting a trophy of any kind since November 1, 2015 when they were presented with the Premier League cup.

Returning Gor Mahia coach Zedekiah Otieno also appeared on the bench for the famous green jerseys for the first time since October 2011 when K’Ogalo drew 2-2 with Kenya Commercial Bank in a league encounter.


Gor Mahia: Boniface Oluoch, Karim Nizigiyimana, Harun Shakava, Joash Onyango, Musa Mohamed, Ernest Wendo, Jean Mugiraneza, Kenneth Muguna, Godfrey Walusimbi, Jacques Tuyisenge, Timothy Otieno; Replacements: Peter Odhiambo, Wellington Ochieng, Philemon Otieno, Oliver Maloba, Amos Nondi, George Odhiambo, Innocent Wafula, Antony Mbugua

Tusker: Duncan Ochieng, Marlon Tangauzi, Samuel Olwande, Lloyd Wahome, Eugene Asike, Hashim Sempala, Noah Wafula, Cercidy Lumumba, Clifford Alwanga, Humphrey Mieno, Moses Ndawula; Replacements: David Okello, Martin Kizza, James Situma, Sydney Ochieng, Jackson Macharia, Victor Ndinya, Abdul Hassan