Kenya coach Stanley Okumbi expressed satisfaction as he awaited a full camp by Monday ahead their opening 2019 Africa Cup of Nations qualifier against Sierra Leone in Freetown on June 10.

England’s Tottenham Hotspur midfielder and Kenyn captain Victor Wanyama, is already in the country after helping his side to a second place finish in the English Premier League and is expected to join the Stars camp by the end of the weekend.

Okumbi expressed delight with the quality he head available in camp at Machakos, saying that local-based players had been impressive in the five days of training they have had together thus far.

“I think we have finally gotten the right squad. The local-based players all look very eager and capable of performing well at the African Nations Championship and the Africa Cup of Nations qualifiers. All the foreign-based players should be here by Monday so that we can have at least four days of wholesome preparations before we jet off to Free Town.

“The strategy is to try and get at least a point in all the away games, and then fight for maximum points in the home games,” he said.

A team of 27 local-based players were earlier called up last week in anticipation of a friendly match against Angola, before a list of 12 foreign-based players were named on Tuesday.

The friendly encounter against Angola did not materialise after the central Africans pulled out at the last minute.

Among the local-based players, Gor Mahia and Posta Rangers produced six while Posta Rangers, Ulinzi Stars and newbies Kariobangi Sharks had four. League champions Tusker had only two call-ups.

However, Gor Mahia, players Timothy Otieno, Kenneth Muguna and Harun Shakava have opted out of the national team.

The trio have travelled to Tanzania with K’Ogalo for the inaugural SportPesa Super Cup which begins on Monday.

Kenya provisional squad:

Goalkeepers: Boniface Oluoch (Gor Mahia), James Saruni (Ulinzi Stars), Patrick Matasi (Posta Rangers);Defenders: Brian Mandela (Maritzburg United), Joseph Okumu (Free State Stars), Erick Ouma (Kolkheti Poti), David Ochieng (New York Cosmos), David Odhiambo (Zesco United), Abud Omar (Slavia Sofia), Bolton Omwenga (Kariobangi Sharks), Hillary Achesa (Posta Rangers), Joakins Otieno Atudo (Posta Rangers), Mayeko Musa Mohammed (Gor Mahia), Pascal Ogweno (Kariobangi Sharks), Robinson Mwangi Kamura (AFC Leopards), Simon Mbugua (Posta Rangers), Marlon Tangauzi (Tusker); Midfielders: Victor Wanyama (Tottenham Hotspur), Eric Johanna (Vasalund IF), Ayub Masika Timbe (Beijing Renhe), Anthony Akumu (Zesco United) Ovella Ochieng (Kariobangi Sharks), Daniel Waweru (Ulinzi Stars), Duncan Otieno (AFC Leopards), Ernest Wendo (Gor Mahia), Jackson Macharia (Tusker), Samuel Onyango (Ulinzi Stars), Stephen Waruru (Ulinzi Stars), Victor Majid (Chemelil Sugar); Strikers: Michael Olunga (Guizhou Zhicheng), Jesse Were (Zesco United), Boniface Muchiri (Sony Sugar), Daniel Mwaura (Mathare United), Joseph Waithera (Wazito), Masita Masuta (Nzoia Sugar), Masoud Musa (Kariobangi Sharks)